Following the footsteps of Google Maps and Find My Friends, Facebook announced that users will now be able to track their friends and family within Facebook Messenger using a new feature called “Live Location.”
The hour-long location sharing feature is beginning to roll out globally and Facebook said it should help friends coordinate with one another when making plans as well as notifying a significant other when you’re on your way home.
How It Works
- To share your Live Location in a message on iOS, tap the Location icon or tap the More icon and then select Location.
- With today’s update, you’ll see a map of your current location and the option to tap a blue bar to share your Live Location.
- If you choose to share your Live Location, the person or people you share it with will be able to see where you are on a map for the next 60 minutes.
- You’ll be able to see an estimate of how long it would take to get to others’ locations by car. (The ETA is seen by the person with whom the location is shared.)
- You can stop sharing your Live Location at any time; just tap Stop Sharing.
- A small clock in the lower right hand corner of the map will also let you know how much longer you’re sharing your location for.
- For Android, tap the Location icon or tap the More icon and then select Location.
- You’ll see a map of your current location and the option to tap a blue bar to share your Live Location for 60 minutes. Just like on iOS, you’ll have the option to stop sharing your Live Location by tapping Stop Sharing, and you’ll see how much longer you’re sharing your Live Location for via a small count down clock in the lower right hand corner of the map.
The social media company also mentioned that today’s location sharing update is “completely optional” and that users “are always in control.”